Older Calendar

Created Friday 20 August 2021

2022-01-06 Thu - Week 0

Introductions


Week 1(Jan 11/13)

Tuesday - Intro to Computers and Software
Thursday - In class Exercise

Week 2 (Jan 18/20)

Tuesday - Binary and Algorithms
Thursday - Discussion 0 - Software and AI (No team leader, but group discussion assigned)

Week 3

Tuesday - Hardware
Thursday - Discussion A - Hardware

Week 4 (Feb 1/3)

Feb 1 - Tuesday -History and Software
Feb 3 Thursday - Discussion B - History and Software

Week 5

Tue - Feb 8 - Intro to Linux
Thu - Feb 10 Discussion C

Week 6

Tue - Feb 15 - The Internet
Thu - Feb 17 Discussion D

Week 7

Tue - Feb 22 - Algorithms and Milkshakes
Thu - Feb 24 Discussion E

Week 8

Tue - Mar 1 - Algorithms and Milkshakes AND LINKS TO JPEGS OF MONKEYS THAT COST MONEY FOR SOME REASON
Thu - Mar 3 Discussion F

Week 9

Tue - Mar 8 - Freely Available Info
Thu - Mar 10 Discussion G

Week 10 SPRING BREAK



Week 11

Tue - Mar 22 - Anonymity
Thu - Mar 24 Discussion H

Week 12

Tue - Mar 29
Thu - Mar 31 Discussion I

Week 13

Tue - Apr 5
Thu - Apr 7 Discussion J

Week 14

Tue - Apr 12
Thu - Apr 14


Older Calendar




UNIT I - THE HISTORY AND THE TECH


2021-08-23 - Week 1

Introductions

2021-08-30 - Week 2

Computers

2021-09-06 - Week 3

Hardware

2021-09-13 - Week 4

History

2021-09-20 - Week 5

Why Linux 1

2021-09-27 - Week 6

Why Linux 2

2021-10-04 - Week 7

The Internet

2021-10-11 - Week 8

Algorithms and Milkshakes I
Algorithms and Milkshakes II (CRYPTO!)
TAKE HOME MIDTERM ASSIGNED, DUE 10-19

UNIT II - HUMANS AND THE FUTURE


2021-10-18 - Week 9

(Take home midterm due 10-19)
The Landscape - Law, Econ, Code and Etiquette
Freely Available Information
FINAL PROJECT ASSIGNED, PROPOSAL DUE 11-02, FINAL DUE 11-30

2021-10-25 - Week 10

Tue: CATCH UP ON ALL THE THINGS
Thurs: Anonymity
PROPOSAL ASSIGNED: Due 11-02

2021-11-01 - Week 11

(Final Project Proposal Due 11-02)
Social Surplus, the new Economy

2021-11-08 - Week 12

Social Media

2021-11-15 - Week 13

Practical Privacy
TAKE HOME FINAL EXERCISE ASSIGNED, DUE 23

2021-11-22 - Week 14 (thanksgiving)

(Take home final due Tuesday, 11-23)
Languages

2021-11-29 - Week 15

(Final Project Due, Tuesday, 11-30)
Wrapping up
COMPLETELY OPTIONAL Presentations




--

Week 1 - Intro to Course and Exercise

Tue Aug 27 - Intro
Thu Aug 29 - First Team Exercise

Week 2 - Software

Tue Sep 03 - LECTURE - Software I
Thu Sep 05 - LECTURE - Software II

Week 3 - Hardware

Tue Sep 10 - LECTURE - Hardware
Thu Sep 12 - LINUX INSTALL

Week 4 - OS' and History

Tue Sep 17 - LECTURE
Thu Sep 19 - DISCUSSION A

Week 5 - Linux and Free Software

Tue Sep 24 - LECTURE
Thu Sep 26 - DISCUSSION B

Week 6 - Interfaces and Languages

Tue Oct 01 - LECTURE
Thu Oct 03 - DISCUSSION C

Week 7 - The Internet

Tue Oct 08 - LECTURE
Thu Oct 10 - DISCUSSION D

Week 8 - Algoritms and Milkshakes

Tue Oct 15 - LECTURE
Thu Oct 17 - DISCUSSION E

Week 9 -Anonymity

Tue Oct 22 - LECTURE
Thu Oct 24 - DISCUSSION F

Week 10 - Social Surplus

Tue Oct 29 - LECTURE
Thu Oct 31 - DISCUSSION G

Week 11 - Social Media

Tue Nov 05 - LECTURE
Thu Nov 07 - WORK DAY - no discussion

Week 12 - Freely Available Information

Tue Nov 12 - LECTURE
Thu Nov 14 - DISCUSSION H

Week 13 - Practical Privacy

Tue Nov 19 - Lecture
Thu Nov 21 - Discussion I

Week 14 (thanksgiving)

Tue Nov 26 - Lecture / in class activity
Thu Nov 28 - NO CLASS

Week 15 - Wrapping it all up

Tue Dec 03 - Lecture
Thu Dec 05 - Final Discussion

FINAL PROJECT DUE — Dec 10



Backlinks: FSU Courses:LIS3353:Calendar:Older Calendar